Skip to content

Prinsloo and Murray fail to advance

August 1, 2013
Karin Prinsloo

Karin Prinsloo

South Africans Karin Prinsloo and Darren Murray failed to advance to the world championship finals in Barcelona on Thursday.

Prinsloo finished last in her 100m freestyle semifinal, but as it was the faster of the two races, she was 14th overall, her time of 55.00 seconds – just 0.03 off her SA record.

“I didn’t expect to make the semifinal of the 100m freestyle, but I think any semifinal for me is good,” Prinsloo said.

“I aim to make a final at the Commonwealth Games next year and a top six finish at the Olympics in Rio in three years time. I’m not a person who achieves something great once, I do it again.

“It was a good race, with a great time,considering everything that’s happened to me over the past few months.”

Prinsloo, 24, studied a Business Management Degree and now runs a swim school in Pretoria.

“I like to work with kids. I am the youngest of four girls and started swimming when I was six-years-old so I guess it runs in my family.”

Murray meanwhile also finished his 200m backstroke semifinal in last place. He added on nearly three seconds from this morning’s heats.

“I’m so disappointed and angry actually with the swim. I just did not have the momentum from the start. I was hoping to go a 1:57 high,” he said.

“After the relay on Sunday I’m going to take a week off and then hit training hard again.”

sapa

From → African News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

kalantzo.wordpress.com/

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

pinoyathletics.com

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

southafricanstylediary.wordpress.com/

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

