Skip to content

Le Clos: “I´ve recovered from my shoulder injury, and I´m in good shape”

July 24, 2013

Chad le Clos 37

The man that beat Michael Phelps in the 200 m butterfly in London 2012, South African Chad le Clos, has affirmed today that he is feeling in good shape after his shoulder injury and he is going to give it his all in these 15th FINA World Championships. As well as the 100 and 200 m butterfly he will participate for the first time in the 50 m, and he warns “I want to get into the final”

When Chad le Clos was a little boy, as well as playing football – he is a Barça fan and wants to visit the Camp Nou – he dreamt about one day beating Michael Phelps. Now, one year after his dream came true in London 2012 in the 200 m butterfly where he took gold, he dreams about beating himself. So in Barcelona 2013 he will be swimming not only the 100 and 200 m, but also the 50 m. “It will be the first time that I swim it in a World Championship. I´ll be happy if I get to the final”, he said during the Press Conference that took place today in Palau Sant Jordi, although we assume he´ll go for much more than that.

After a start of the year that he defined as “shaky, I had a shoulder injury that took me a while to get over”, the rehabilitation and trainings that started in February were effective, he now feels back in good shape. “I´ve had to do a lot of rehabilitation and weights to strengthen up and especially for core strength, because the 200 is a race that you can´t do if you are not in your best shape. Last summer, after the Olympic Games, between the rest and my injury I was out of the swimming pool for nearly three months. It´s the longest time I have ever spent out of it, and I´m not planning on doing it again”, he explained.

There was the obligatory question from the journalists about what will change now that Michael Phelps is not competing, le Clos replied that “I have always tried to achieve the best possible when I compete, when Phelps was there it was obviously my dream to beat him but now that he´s not there I still carry on giving 100%. Nothing has changed”. He thinks that the level of the 200 m butterfly will continue being very high, as in Shanghai 2011 no one went below 1:55. “There will be some tough competitors like the Hungarian László Cseh who has been preparing well this summer or the Japanese Takashi Yamamoto”.

Le Clos will also be seeing the face of Ryan Lochte for the first time in a World Championship as the American announced that he will swim the 100 m butterfly in Barcelona 2013. “It will be very exciting, I think he could go below 51, we´ll see how he does”, commented the South African.

Regarding a hypothetical return for Phelps, he affirmed that he knew nothing, although it seems he has a good friendship with the American. They are planning some shark cage diving in Cape Town following the Championships. We hope that they don’t challenge the shark to swim. Although le Clos certainly seems to like challenges, and they normally work out well for him. In fact he has already has one in mind for the future: “I want to participate in the individual medley”. We will stay tuned.

bcn2013

From → African News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

kalantzo.wordpress.com/

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

pinoyathletics.com

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

southafricanstylediary.wordpress.com/

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

