Skip to content

BCN2013 – Mireia Belmonte – “I don’t give up easily”

July 20, 2013

Mireia_1

Double Spanish Olympic medalist Mireia Belmonte visited the Palau Sant Jordi for the first time last Wednesday. Quite an emotional moment for the Catalonian swimmer, who believes to be in good form, but would rather not make predictions: “In London I thought I was better prepared for certain events, and I finally did better in others”

Mireia Belmonte, best Spanish swimmer of all times -two Olympic silver medals in 200m butterfly and 800m freestyle in London 2012- arrives to the 15th FINA World Championships in good form, and with a big smile. “This pool is spectacular, I visited it today for the first time, I have never swum here before. Thus these Worlds are going to be special for me”, Belmonte said.

After her final stage of preparation in Granada, the Badalona born swimmer attended the official presentation of the Spanish team for BCN2013 last Wednesday. “I think I arrive in Barcelona in good form. We’ve worked hard and with a big workload, now it’s gone a bit lighter, and it’s worked really well”, she explained right before the official photo shoot.

Belmonte, who currently swims for the UCAM Murcia, prefered not to try to predict in which events she might get better results: “I’ll be swimming many of them, so it all depends on how tired I reach the end of the week… It’s hard to say. Also in London I thought that I would perform better in some tests, and I ended up doing so in others. ”

Regarding her most direct competitors, Belmonte has no names in mind, but countries: “China, Australia, the U.S. and France”, she replied without hesitation. She’ll have to face them up in the six tests she will be taking in BCN2013, but she’s known for her fighting nature.  “I don’t give up easily” she said.  Neither will the relatives, friends and fans which are likely to fill up the Palau Sant Jordi to cheer up their star.

bcn2013

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

kalantzo.wordpress.com/

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

pinoyathletics.com

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

southafricanstylediary.wordpress.com/

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

