Skip to content

Jamieson ready to handle expectations

June 25, 2013
Michael Jamieson has sights set on gold

Michael Jamieson has sights set on gold

With just two British swimmers picking up medals at the London 2012 Olympics and one of those – Rebecca Adlington – since retired, the weight of expectation now rests firmly on the shoulders of Michael Jamieson.

But the Scottish breaststroke star is welcoming the added pressure as he looks to make the most of his new-found confidence – beginning with next month’s World Championships in Barcelona – before he calls it quits himself.

Three medals were won by Britain’s swimmers at London 2012, with Jamieson contributing one – silver in the 200m breaststroke in a new national record of 2min 7.43sec and only being edged out of gold by a world record from Hungarian Daniel Gyurta.

Adlington claimed the other two with bronzes in the 400m and 800m freestyles and, while she’s called it quits, it is all systems go again for Jamieson, who wants to renew his rivalry with Gyurta at the World Championships.

The 24-year-old, who will bid for his place at the British Gas Championships at the end of the month, said: “I think having pressure and dealing with it is part and parcel of it all. Since the Olympics that is something I am going to have to teach myself.

“But I can say so far that it has never had a negative effect on me and I don’t think it will ever affect me too much.

“No-one will ever put as much pressure on me than I do myself and I think it’s time for someone to step up and challenge Gyurta and I want that to be me.

“London 2012 was great but I want to keep the ball rolling because I only have four years left in this sport and I want to make the most of every season.”

Jamieson is taking part in British Gas SwimBritain, a programme aiming to encourage half a million people to improve their fitness by swimming more regularly by 2015. Find out more at www.swimbritain.co.uk/challenge

eveningtimes

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

kalantzo.wordpress.com/

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

pinoyathletics.info

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

southafricanstylediary.wordpress.com/

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

