Skip to content

Arena Grand Prix concludes : Franklin, Lochte overall winners

June 3, 2013
Missy Franklin

Missy Franklin

Olympic gold medalist Ryan Lochte (Daytona Beach, Fla.) posted a convincing win in the men’s 200m individual medley on Sunday to earn his fourth victory of the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara at the George F. Haines International Swim Center. 

In the process, Lochte also claimed the title of 2012-13 Arena Grand Prix Series men’s champion with 68 points over the course of the six-event series. Missy Franklin (Centennial, Colo.), who was second Sunday in the 100m back and 200m IM, was crowned the 2012-13 Arena Grand Prix Series women’s champion with 103 points.

As part of USA Swimming’s new, eight-year partnership with Arena, the Arena Grand Prix Series offers swimmers the opportunity to take home prize money for top finishes in all individual Olympic-distance events for each meet in the Series. Athletes received five points and $500 for a first-place finish, three points and $300 for second and one point and $100 for third. A final overall leaderboard for the Series can be found online here.

Lochte cruised to his fourth win of the weekend with a time of 1:58.07 in the 200m IM on Sunday. Conor Dwyer (Winnetka, Ill.) was second in 2:00.19, and Chase Kalisz (Bel Air, Md.) was third in 2:01.11.

“Overall this meet was good. It was good getting up on the blocks and racing,” Lochte said. “Now I have a month left of training to get ready, and we’ll see what happens.” The Arena Grand Prix at Mesa was the final tune-up for many swimmers in advance of this month’s Phillips 66 National Championships and World Championship Trials in Indianapolis.

Elizabeth Pelton (Baltimore, Md.) edged a strong field in the women’s 100m back to take the win in a career-best 59.88. Her soon-to-be Cal teammate Franklin was second in 1:00.02, and fellow Golden Bear Rachel Bootsma (Eden Prairie, Minn.) placed third in 1:00.97.

Olympic medalist Caitlin Leverenz (Tucson, Ariz.) came on strong on the breaststroke length of the 200m IM to win the event in 2:11.87 over Franklin and Pelton. Franklin was second in 2:13.56, and Pelton placed third in 2:13.95.

World-record holder Jessica Hardy (Long Beach, Calif.) cruised to the 100m breast title in 1:06.86. Australia’s Samantha Marshall was second in 1:08.00, and third went to Laura Sogar (Exeter, R.I.) in 1:08.41.

16-year-old Justin Wright (Fresno, Calif.) pulled an upset in the 200m fly, surging past the field over the final 50 meters to win in 1:57.90. Tom Luchsinger (Mt. Sinai, N.Y.) was second in 1:58.26, followed by Olympian Tyler Clary (Riverside, Calif.), who placed third in 1:58.53.

There was a tie in the men’s 100m back with Matt Grevers (Lake Forest, Ill.) and Russia’s Arkady Vyatchanin finishing in 54.47. Eugene Godsoe (Greensboro, N.C.) finished third in 54.69. 

The women’s 800m free went to Gillian Ryan (Kutztown, Pa.), who closed strong to take the win in 8:36.49. Canada’s Alexa Komarnycky was second in 8:36.93, and Stephanie Peacock (Cape Coral, Fla.) was third in 8:39.47.

In other races, Canada’s Audrey Lacroix won the 200m fly in 2:08.64. Second went to Jasmine Tosky (Palo Alto, Calif.) in 2:10.89, while Olympian Elizabeth Beisel (Saunderstown, R.I.) took third in 2:12.74. Kevin Cordes (Naperville, Ill.) won the men’s 100m breast in 1:00.47 to complete the breaststroke sweep for the meet. Glenn Snyders of New Zealand was second in 1:00.99, and Brazil’s Felipe Lima placed third in 1:01.21. Australia’s Mack Horton won the men’s 1500m free with a time of 15:13.67, Poland’s Mateusz Sawrymowicz was second in 15:14.08 and Chad LaTourette (Mission Viejo, Calif.) took third in 15:28.22.

For highlights and complete meet results, please visit the Arena Grand Prix at Santa Clara landing page.

The Arena Grand Prix Series serves as an opportunity for swimmers to race against some of the best competition in the country as they continue their preparation for the 2013 Phillips 66 National Championships and World Championships Trials in Indianapolis, Ind., the World University Games in Kazan, Russia, and the FINA World Championships in Barcelona, Spain.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


The Independent Swim News Site

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness


The Independent Swim News Site

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The Blog

The latest news on and the WordPress community.

%d bloggers like this: