Skip to content

Sun shining again after coaching clouds clear

April 3, 2013
Sun Yang

Sun Yang

China‘s double Olympic gold medallist Sun Yang has mended fences with his coach and lais down a marker ahead of this year’s World Championships by claiming the 400m freestyle title at the Chinese national Swimming Championships.

Sun‘s relationship with coach Zhu Zhigen had reportedly soured amid concerns the 21-year-old swimmer’s private life was affecting his training.

He was also suspended from all commercial activities in February for breaching a “series of team rules” and had one month’s training allowance withheld.

Sun finished nearly four seconds ahead of his nearest rival at the meet on Monday and will look to improve steadily ahead of the July 19-Aug. 4 World Championship in Barcelona.

“I am just 70 to 80 per cent of my best level,” Sun was quoted as saying by Xinhua news agency.

“My coach knows me better and I hope I can do better in the World Championships,” said the Olympic 400m and 1,500m freestyle champion, who returned to normal training last month.

Sun shot to fame at the London Games where he became the first man from China to win an Olympic swimming gold medal, transforming him into one of the country’s most sought-after sportsmen.

“As you know I just resumed training for a few days, so I think the result is OK,” added Sun, who also holds the 1,500m freestyle world record.

“I am still dealing with my shoulder injuries. I swam about 20,000 metres a day, so my shoulders are always in bad condition.”

Reuters

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness

ZwemZa

The Independent Swim News Site

kalantzo.wordpress.com/

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

pinoyathletics.info

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

southafricanstylediary.wordpress.com/

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

