Skip to content

Britain name junior squads for Poznan

March 14, 2013

Cover Free pull

A team of 24 elite junior swimmers have been selected to compete for the British Gas GBR Swimming team at the European Junior Championships in Pozan, Ploand.

Taking place between the 10th and 14th of July, the EJCs has long been the benchmark meet on the elite junior programme at British Swimming.

Mark Perry, interim technical lead for British Swimming, said: “The European Junior Championships is one of the target meets on the Podium Potential Programme and this year we have adopted a tough selection policy.

“We are taking a smaller, more medal focused group who we believe have the potential to make the team for Rio 2016 and beyond.

“This meet offers some swimmers the first chance to represent their country at a very high standard of competition, giving them valuable experience for the future.”

Amongst those selected for the event is City of Sheffield swimmer Matthew Johnson who won two golds and one silver medal at last year’s event in Antwerp.

Joining him is Millfield’s James Guy (Millfield) who took the bronze in the 400m Freestyle last year and relay medallists Harriet Cooper (City of Leicester) and Emma Day (Guildford).

Male team:

Harry Ackland                    Plymouth Leander

Alex Dunk                           Prescot

James Guy                          Millfield

Caleb Hughes                    Hatfield

Matthew Johnson           City of Sheffield

Joel Knight                          Millfield

Max Litchfield                    Doncaster DARTES

Jack Smith                           Plymouth Leander

Mark Szaranek                  Carnegie

Nathan Theodoris            British Gas Swansea ITC

Female team:

Shauntelle Austin            Blackpool Aquatics

Megan Briggs                     Warrender Baths

Harriet Cooper                  City of Leicester

Kathleen Dawson            Warrington Warriors

Emma Day                           Guildford City

Alice Dearing                      Royal Wolverhampton School

Lucy Hope                           Borders Elite Swim Team (BEST)

Ellena Jones                       Swim Swansea

Amber Keegan                  NOVA Centurion

Katie Latham                      Thanet Swim

Lucy McKenzie                  Cockermouth

Erin Nabney                       Ealing

Rosie Rudin                        NOVA Centurion

Linda Shaw                         City of Leeds


Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


The Independent Swim News Site

I am You. We are God.

A Call To Consciousness


The Independent Swim News Site

Here I will post my views and my photos. Thank you for visiting. All photos (C) Kostas Kalantzopoulos

Reporting and Analyzing Philippine Athletics The Way It Should Be

A South African Style Blog by Penelope Robertson

Owen O'Keefe

Fermoy Fish • Eo na Mainistreach • Peixe da Planície

The Blog

The latest news on and the WordPress community.

%d bloggers like this: